the company

Orientation, information and communication within spaces: these are the key areas in which we work. Peter Eckart and Bernd Hilpert established unit-design in 2000. Today, we are a team of ten, developing design solutions to high creative and strategic standards – and successfully putting them into practice. Working with international customers and partners, we implement projects with lasting design quality.

what we do

signage and information system

Giving people guidance and conveying information and values in architecture, urban environments and regions, from the design stage to implementation in products, media and interior design.

Project examples


Thematic worlds built around sustainable communication rather than creating a short-term effect, in museums, visitor centers and public buildings.

Project examples


Corporate design and branding – with a long-term approach and implemented in the context of space-focused design and the relationship with architecture.

Project examples

public spaces

Public design that integrates information and product design. From spatial concepts to signposts and street furniture.

Project examples


Products and product systems, particularly – but not only – in the context of signage: orientation, information and communication in three dimensions.

Project examples

spatial graphics

Graphics send a signal and give spaces a specific atmosphere, synchronized with brands, themes and architectural designs.

Project examples

who we are

Partner + management

bernd hilpert

Graduate in design; studied at Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences and at ENSCI in Paris; worked as a freelancer in communication design and exhibition design from 1996 to 1999; with unit-design since 2000, becoming partner and managing director at unit-design GmbH in 2002.



peter eckart

Graduate in design; studied under Professor Dieter Rams at the University of Fine Arts of Hamburg; at Braun AG from 1989 to 1992; worked as a freelancer for multinational companies in product and information design from 1992. Professor of product design at Offenbach University of Art and Design since 1999; founded unit-design in 2000; partner in unit-design GmbH since 2002.


Our team comprises ten designers with extensive experience in graphics and in media and product design. We also use freelancers depending on the situation and the project.


In our projects, we operate as an independent, agile unit of design specialists, working closely with architects, urban planners, graphic designers and curators. As a result of this, we have built up an international network of professional partners.


If you are a designer interested in signage and information systems and you have, or would like to gain, experience in the field, we should get to know each other. We offer challenging assignments in an inspiring working environment.

das büro

Orientierung, Kommunikation, Information im Raum: Das sind unsere zentralen Arbeitsfelder. Peter Eckart und Bernd Hilpert gründeten unit-design im Jahr 2000. Heute konzipieren wir als 10-köpfiges Team Designlösungen mit einem hohen gestalterischen und strategischen Anspruch – und setzen sie erfolgreich um. Gemeinsam mit internationalen Kunden und Partnern realisieren wir Projekte, deren Designqualität nachhaltig Bestand hat.

was wir machen

leit- und informationssystem

Menschen Orientierung geben, Informationen und Werte vermitteln: In Architekturen, Stadträumen, Regionen. Vom Konzept bis zur Umsetzung in Produkten, Medien und Raumgestaltung

Projektbeispiele

ausstellungen

Thematische Welten, die auf nachhaltige Kommunikation statt auf schnelle Effekte setzen – in Museen, aber auch in Besucherzentren oder öffentlichen Bauten.

Projektbeispiele

marke

Corporate Design und Branding – langfristig gedacht und umgesetzt im Kontext von räumlicher Gestaltung, in der Beziehung zur Architektur.

Projektbeispiele

öffentlicher raum

Public Design, das Informations- und Produktgestaltung integriert. Vom Raumkonzept bis zum Wegweiser und Stadtmöbel.

Projektbeispiele

produkt

Produkte und Produktsysteme, vor allem – aber nicht nur – im Kontext der Signaletik: Orientierung, Information und Kommunikation, in der dritten Dimension.

Projektbeispiele

raumgrafik

Grafische Mittel setzen Zeichen und geben Räumen eine spezifische Atmosphäre: Synchronisiert mit Marken, Themen und architektonischen Konzepten.

Projektbeispiele

wer wir sind

Partner + Geschäftsführung

bernd hilpert

Diplom Designer; Studium an der FHDarmstadt und der ENSCI Paris; 1996 bis 1999 selbstständige Tätigkeit in den Bereichen Kommunikationsdesign und Ausstellungsgestaltung; seit 2000 bei unit-design, ab 2002 Partner und Geschäftsführer in der unit-design GmbH

b.hilpert@unit-design.de

PARTNER

peter eckart

Diplom Designer; Studium an der HfbK Hamburg bei Prof Dieter Rams; 1989 bis 1992 Braun AG; seit 1992 selbständig für international agierende Unternehmen in den Bereichen Produkt- und Informationsdesign. Seit 1999 Professor für Produktgestaltung, Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach; 2000 Gründung von unit-design, ab 2002 Partner in der unit-design GmbH

p.eckart@unit-design.de

Unser Team besteht aus 10 Designerinnen und Designern, die umfassende Erfahrung aus Grafik, Medien- und Produktgestaltung mitbringen. Hinzu kommen situativ und projektbezogen weitere freie Mitarbeiter.

partner

In unseren Projekten arbeiten wir als eigenständige, agile „unit" von Designspezialisten eng mit Architekten, Stadtplanern, Grafikern oder Kuratoren zusammen. Daraus hat sich ein internationales Netzwerk mit eingespielten Partnern entwickelt.

jobs

Wenn Sie als Gestalter am Arbeitsgebiet Leit- und Informationssysteme interessiert sind, über entsprechende Erfahrung verfügen oder solche sammeln möchten, sollten wir uns kennen lernen. Wir bieten herausfordernde Aufgaben in einem inspirierenden Umfeld.