Up in the air

The office building designed by Herzog & de Meuron is the headquarters of pharmaceutical company Hoffmann-La Roche in Basel and a clear commitment to Switzerland as a location. At 178 meters, it is one of Switzerland's tallest structures. It provides ideal working conditions for roughly 2,000 employees.
The office areas are complemented by a restaurant, a café, conference rooms and an auditorium.



Activity-based working

Building 1 is a pilot project and a crucial milestone in the implementation of innovative working methods at the company. One key concept is activity-based working, which involves working in different settings depending on the tasks to be performed.
This includes open room layouts with informal meeting zones to encourage employees to collaborate. Herzog & de Meuron have tackled this in their iconic building by creating open communication areas that extend across multiple floors and are linked by open spiral staircases.




The signage created by unit-design was in response to the requirements that arose as a result of the new working methods.
For example, newly developed pictograms indicate the different types of work. Taking the Roche design guidelines and the specific architecture as a basis produced minimalist and functional signage that fits seamlessly into its surroundings.



The subtle design of the contoured floor identification signs is a special feature, with their white surfaces distinguished from the background, which is also white, only by the black layers on their reverse sides and the shadows that they cast.

This detail recurs in lettering in the various food and drink areas with reverse-facing colored layers to suit their respective surroundings.

The logo for the Pebbles Lounge on the 38th floor was a particular challenge. The CNC-machined rigid foam body was altered by hand on site to match the glass waves of the substrate and to form a single unit.

Hoch hinaus

Das von Herzog & de Meuron entworfene Bürogebäude am Hauptsitz der F.Hoffmann-La Roche AG in Basel und ein klares Bekenntnis zum Schweizer Standort. Mit seinen 178 Metern Höhe ist es aktuell das höchste Gebäude der Schweiz. Bis zu 2000 Mitarbeiter finden hier ideale Arbeitsbedingungen.
Ergänzt werden die Bürobereiche durch ein Restaurant, ein Café, Konferenzräume, ein Auditorium sowie die Top Floor Lounge.

 

 

Activity Based Working

Bau 1 ist ein wichtiger Meilenstein für die Umsetzung innovativer Arbeitsformen im Unternehmen. Als Stichwort ist „Activity Based Working" zu nennen – das Arbeiten ohne festen Arbeitsplatz in verschiedenen Arbeitsumgebungen, die je nach auszuführender Tätigkeit gewählt werden können.
Dazu gehören auch offene Raumstrukturen mit informellen Begegnungszonen, die den Austausch zwischen den Mitarbeitern fördern. Herzog & de Meuron lösen dies in Ihrem ikonischen Bau durch die Schaffung offener Kommunikationsbereiche, die sich über mehrere Stockwerke erstrecken und durch freiliegende Wendeltreppen miteinander verbunden sind.

 

 

Entwurf

Der Leitsystementwurf von unit-design reagiert auf die Anforderungen, die sich aus den neuen Arbeitskonzepten ergeben.
So kennzeichnen neu entwickelte Piktogramme die verschiedenen Arbeitsformen. Auf der Basis der Roche Design Richtlinien und in Anlehnung an die spezifische Architektur ist ein Leitsystem entstanden, das sich reduziert und sachlich präsentiert und sich selbstverständlich in die Umgebung einfügt.

 

 

Die subtile Gestaltung der konturgeschnittenen Stockwerkskennzeichnungen ist eine Besonderheit: Ihre weiße Oberfläche hebt sich vom ebenfalls weißen Hintergrund lediglich durch die rückwärtige schwarze Schicht und den Schattenwurf ab.

Dieses Detail wiederholt sich bei Beschriftungen in den verschiedenen Gastronomiebereichen mit rückwärtigen farbigen Schichten, passend zur jeweiligen Umgebung.

Das Logo für die Pebbles Lounge in der 38. Etage war eine besondere Herausforderung. Der CNC-gefräste Hartschaumkörper wurde vor Ort per Hand an die Glaswellen des Untergrundes angepasst und bildet damit ein Einheit.