Campus identity

At the current research site in the south of Erlangen, Germany, Siemens is creating a modern campus comprising office space, research facilities and laboratory space, as well as apartments and a hotel.
In addition to the corporate guidelines concerning architecture and signage, Siemens wanted a design for how color was to be used in the buildings. This was to be implemented consistently, ensure good recognition and thereby create an additional campus identity.



The complete palette of Siemens corporate colors formed the basis for this.
Each building was assigned its own color, and various shades of this color were then used. It was possible to use a second color to provide contrast.

Walls in prominent positions in central areas were used as design surfaces. There were rules to set the amount of creative freedom on these wall surfaces.



unit-design developed a patterned structure for the project that created a transition between white and colored walls. Variables for the design included graduations in the shade of the main color, the scale of the pattern and its complexity.



The type of design differed from floor to floor, creating a transition from the ground floor to the top floor. This transition is also achieved by means of color gradients.


The first building on campus was the Siemens Professional Education center, opened in 2016 and a venue for classes for more than 1,000 apprentices. This was where the color scheme was used for the first time, in the entrance area and the open working areas, located at two corners on the top floor of the building.

Campus-Identität

Auf dem heutigen Forschungsgelände im Süden Erlangens lässt Siemens einen modernen Campus entstehen, der Büro-, Forschungs- und Laborarbeitsplätze sowie Wohnungen und ein Hotel umfasst.
Über die Unternehmens-Richtlinien in Bezug auf Architektur und Leitsystem hinaus wünschte sich Siemens ein Konzept für eine farbige Bespielung der Baukörper. Dies sollte durchgängig umgesetzt werden, eine hohe Wiedererkennbarkeit gewährleisten und so eine zusätzliche Campus-Identität schaffen.

 

 

Die Basis bildet die komplette Palette der Siemens Corporate-Farben.
Dabei wird jedem Gebäude eine eigene Farbe zugeordnet, welche in verschiedenen Helligkeitsabstufungen eingesetzt wird. Eine zweite Farbe kann einen zusätzlichen Akzent setzen.

Gestaltungsflächen sind Wände, die im Gebäude prominent an zentralen Bereichen liegen. Der Gestaltungsfreiraum innerhalb dieser Wandbereiche wird durch Regeln vorgegeben.

 

 

Unit-design entwickelte für das Projekt eine Patternstruktur, die einen Übergangsbereich zwischen weißer und farbiger Wand bildet. Variablen für die Gestaltung sind die Helligkeitsabstufungen der Hauptfarbe, der Maßstab des Pattern und seine Komplexität.

 

 

Die Stockwerke werden in der Art der Gestaltung unterschieden, so daß ein Übergang vom ersten bis zum obersten Stockwerk entsteht. Dieser Übergang kann durch Farbabstufungen geschaffen werden.

 

Als erstes Gebäude auf dem Campus entstand 2016 das Ausbildungszentrum "Siemens Professional Education", in dem über 1000 Auszubildende unterrichtet werden. Hier wurde erstmals das Farbkonzept umgesetzt – im Eingangsbereich und in den offenen Arbeitsbereichen, die sich jeweils an zwei Ecken des Gebäudes in den oberen Stockwerken befinden.