The Holy Sepulchre in Bad Homburg

The exhibition at the Gothic House presents reproductions of the Holy Sepulchre, with full-scale models of Christ's tomb in Jerusalem as depicted throughout Europe from the Early Middle Ages to the modern era. 
Based on this theme, unit-design designed an exhibition split into two areas, each with its own ambiance and style of presentation.





The part of the exhibition on the lower floor uses numerous historical exhibits, some of them unique, to tell the story of the Holy Sepulchre, alongside other means of attempting to bring Jerusalem to life in Europe.


The upper floor focuses on pilgrimages, which were sometimes extremely arduous. The entire exhibition is designed to make you feel as though you are walking through the pages of a book, in black and white with in-built exhibits and large graphics.

Das Heilige Grab in Bad Homburg

Die Ausstellung des Museums im Gotischen Haus thematisiert Reproduktionen des Heiligen Grabes: Maßstabsgetreue Nachbildungen des Christusgrabes in Jerusalem, wie sie in ganz Europa vom frühen Mittelalter bis in die Neuzeit hinein errichtet wurden. 
Rund um dieses Thema konzipiert unit-design eine Ausstellung, die sich in zwei Bereiche mit einer jeweils eigenen Atmosphäre und Darstellungsform gliedert.

 

 

 

 

Der Ausstellungsteil im Untergeschoss erzählt anhand von zahlreichen, zum Teil einzigartigen historischen Exponaten die Geschichte der "Heiligen Gräber" und weiterer Ansätze, Jerusalem in Europa erlebbar zu machen.

 

Im Obergeschoss stehen die bisweilen äusserst beschwerlichen Pilgerreisen im Zentrum. Die gesamte Ausstellung ist als begehbares Buch konzipiert – in schwarz und weiß, mit eingebauten Exponaten und großformatigen Grafiken.