Creating an architectural dialog

With its spectacular architecture and successful integration of Martin Elsaesser's historic Wholesale Market Hall, the headquarters of the European Central Bank, designed by Coop Himmelb(l)au, has made its mark on Frankfurt's skyline. Following an international selection process, unit-design was commissioned in 2007 to design the signage and information system as well as the branding on display inside and outside the new ECB. Alongside the functional task of ensuring an intuitive means of orientation for visitors and employees, our design complements the architecture with stand-alone elements with a distinct presence. Three-dimensional lettering that appears to float in mid-air has a striking effect, reaching a considerable distance despite its transparency, and lending an identity to facilities such as a restaurant or conference room. 


"The colors and the nature of the materials used in the metal elements, with their transparent yellow backgrounds, generate character all of their own as they interact with the building itself, and add subtle details." Bernd Hilpert

Interaction

The typeface and pictograms were developed specially for the method of production employed. The design of the system is in perfect harmony with both the state-of-the-art office building and the historical context of the former Wholesale Market Hall. The long-distance effectiveness and eye-catching identification of the various areas help guests and employees to find their way around the spacious premises.

 

 

 

 


The principle behind the design has been transferred specifically to a range of applications. Not only have digital means of conveying information been provided and systems for presenting varying content, but there is also printing applied directly to walls and floors. The system comprises roughly 50 different, specially developed product types with more than 8,000 individual items installed.

Illuminated glass

In principle, the elements consist of a sandwich made up of an assortment of laser-cut layers. The lettering is outlined in a warm, anodized shade, while it is filled with glass illuminated in yellow. Where possible, the elements were installed off-set from their backgrounds or free-standing in the form of large monolith-style signs and large format lettering. This produces lighting effects within the transparent layer that are constantly changing depending on how the light falls.

info

Customer

Europäische Zentralbank

Project partner

Albert Speer und Partner, Drees & Sommer, Coop Himmelb(l)au

photography

Norbert Miguletz

year

2014 - 2016

service

conception, construction management, design, design manual, engineering, operational support, planning, product design, routing, tender services, visual identity

Client

European Central Bank

unit-team

Bernd Hilpert, Peter Eckart, Sabrina Heinze, Heidrun Althen, Konrad Regel, Christian Breig, Robert Cristinetti, Bruno Scheffler, Leslie Hildebrandt, Lisa Kelso

Im Dialog mit der Architektur.

Mit seiner spektakulären Architektur und der gelungenen Integration von Martin Elsaessers historischer Großmarkthalle setzt der von Coop Himmelb(l)au entworfene Hauptsitz der Europäischen Zentralbank eine Marke im Stadtbild von Frankfurt. Nach einem internationalen Auswahlverfahren wird unit-design 2007 mit der Gestaltung des Leit- und Informationssystems sowie der Markenrepräsentation im Innen- und Außenraum der neuen EZB beauftragt. Neben der funktionalen Aufgabe, den Besuchern und Mitarbeitern intuitive Orientierung zu garantieren, ergänzt unser Entwurf die Architektur mit eigenständigen, präsenten Elementen. Scheinbar schwebende, dreidimensionale Schriftelemente erzielen trotz ihrer Transparenz starke Fernwirkung und verleihen den Einrichtungen wie Restaurant oder Konferenz eine Identität. 



„Die Farbigkeit und Materialität der Metallelemente mit den gelben transparenten Hintergründen erzeugen im Zusammenspiel mit dem Gebäude einen eigenen Charakter und bilden ein feines Detail" Bernd Hilpert

Wechselspiel

Schrifttyp und Piktogramme sind speziell für die eingesetzte Herstellungstechnik entwickelt. Die Gestaltung des Systems harmoniert sowohl mit dem modernen Bürogebäude als auch mit dem historischen Kontext der ehemaligen Großmarkthalle. Die Fernwirkung und plakative Kennzeichnung der Orte hilft Gästen und Mitarbeitern dabei, sich in den großzügigen Raumstrukturen zurechtfinden.

 

 

 

 


Das Prinzip der Gestaltung wird auf unterschiediche Maßnahmen spezifisch übertragen. Es entstehen sowohl digitale Informationsträger als auch Systeme für auswechselbare Inhalte und direkte Wand- und Bodenbedruckungen. Das System umfasst rund 50 unterschiedliche, speziell entwickelte Produkttypen mit mehr als 8000 eingebrachten Einzelpositionen.

Leuchtendes Glas

Die Elemente bestehen im Prinzip aus einem Sandwich verschiedener lasergeschnittener Schichten. Die Schriften werden als "Outline" in einem warmen Eloxalton dargestellt und die Füllungen erscheinen in gelb leuchtendem Glas. Die Montage der Elemente erfolgt möglichst abgesetzt oder freistehend in Form großer Stelen und großformatiger Schriftzüge. So ergeben sich je nach Lichteinfall immer neue Leuchteffekte innerhalb der transparenten Schicht.

info

Kunde

Europäische Zentralbank

Projektpartner

Albert Speer und Partner, Drees & Sommer, Coop Himmelb(l)au

unit-mitarbeiter

Bernd Hilpert, Peter Eckart, Sabrina Heinze, Heidrun Althen, Konrad Regel, Christian Breig, Robert Cristinetti, Bruno Scheffler, Leslie Hildebrandt, Lisa Kelso

jahr

2014 - 2016

bereich

leit- und infosysteme

fotografie

Norbert Miguletz

auftraggeber

Europäische Zentralbank

leistung

Ausschreibung, Bauleitung, Betreuung im Betrieb, Entwurf, Gestaltungsrichtlinie, Grafikdesign, Konstruktion, Konzept, Mediendesign, Planung, Produktdesign, System Design, Visuelle Identität